محطات فارقة: ماذا تتوقعين من طفلك بعمر ٥ سنوات

MILESTONES:

إنها الآن بعمر الخامسة. يعني لم يعد طفلة صغيرة. إنها مستقلة، واثقة وتفكّر على طريقتها. تقضي ساعات مع ألعابها، تحب أن تجرب أشياء جديدة وتعبّر عمّا تشعر به من إحباط. هل تصدّقين كيف مرّ الوقت عزيزتي الأم؟ ولكنها جاهزة لمدرسة كبيرة.

بالطبع، كل ٥ سنوات من العمر سترينها كيف تنمو وتتطور بوتيرتها الخاصة أمام عينيك. ما هو مثير للاهتمام أنك ستلاحظين بعض الاختلافات بين الأولاد والبنات لا سيما فيما خصّ النمو الجسدي والمهارات الاجتماعية والنضج النفسي.

فيما يلي بعض الطرق التي تميّز اختلاف الفتيان والفتيات في سن الخامسة وهم يكبرون يوماً بعد يوم.

في ملعب المدرسة:

يميل الأولاد إلى الحركة. يفضلون التعبير عن أنفسهم من خلال اللعب بخشونة أكثر مثل الدفع أو التدافع أو المطاردة. يحبون أن يظهروا كأبطال خارقين فينخرطون في العراك ويدمّرون "الأشرار". إنهم ميّالون إلى المنافسة أكثر من البنات.

تميل الفتيات أكثر إلى "التحدّث". يستخدمون أسلوب الحديث عن اختلافاتهم بدلاً من الأسلوب الجسدي الخشن. من المرجح أن تميل البنات إلى اللعب الذي يتمحور حول الظروف الاجتماعية، على سبيل المثال إقامة حفل شاي مع الدمية أو أخذ الدمية الصغيرة للمشي في عربة الأطفال.

"هل يمكن أن نصبح أصدقاء؟"

على الرغم من وجود استثناءات، بما أنهم يصبحون بسن الخامسة، إلا أن الأولاد والبنات يتّخذون معظم أصدقائهم من نفس جنسهم.

يميل الأولاد إلى الرغبة في الانتماء إلى مجموعة. يتصادقون مع الآخرين الذين يشاركونهم الاهتمامات نفسها، على سبيل المثال في الرياضة أو سيارات السباق. يتخذون العديد من الأصدقاء وليس فقط "أفضل" صديق.

بينما تفضّل الفتيات المجموعات الصغيرة ويظهرون ميلهنّ إلى تكوين صداقات أعمق. من المرجح أن يكون لديهنّ صديقة أو صديقتين من أفضل الصديقات اللواتي يشاركنهنّ أسرارهنّ.

في الصف

قد يبدي الأولاد تفاعلاً بطيئاً في بداية الأمر، لكنهم يميلون إلى اللحاق بهذه السن. هم أكثر ميلاً ليكونوا أفضل في المهام البصرية. ولأنهم يحبون الحركة، قد يواجهون صعوبة في البقاء هادئين تماماً.

بينما تميل الفتيات إلى الحصول على فترة اهتمام أطول وقد تركزن على مهمة ما أطول فترة ممكنة. تنضج مهاراتهنّ اللفظية أسرع من الأولاد.

التعامل مع العواطف

يبدو الأولاد أكثر عدوانية ظاهرياً، ولكن سلوكهم الخفي يخفي حاجتهم للدعم العاطفي والإرشاد. يحتاج الأولاد إلى المزيد من المساعدة في التعامل مع العواطف والإفصاح عنها، وبالتالي يميلون إلى التعبير عن أنفسهم جسدياً.

تميل الفتيات إلى أن النضج العاطفي قبل اختبار العواطف بنجاح أكبر. كما أنهنّ أكثر سرّية ومن المرجح أن يميلْن إلى تحمّل المسؤولية في هذه المرحلة الابتدائية.

لنكُن رياضيين

يحب الأولاد ممارسة الرياضة البدنية والجماعية أكثر من البنات. فالمشاركة في الأنشطة الرياضية تساعدهم على بناء ثقتهم وشعورهم بأنفسهم.

بينما تميل الفتيات إلى الانجذاب نحو مزيد من الرياضات الفردية مثل الجمباز والسباحة.

تربية أطفال بعمر ٥ سنوات

يكبر أطفالنا يوماً بعد يوم ويصبحوا أكثر استقلالية ولكن قدرتنا على التأثير عليهم وتغذيتهم تكون أكثر تحدياً من أي وقت مضى. فهم يحتاجون إلى توجيهاتنا ومدحنا وتواجدنا كي ينمو ويصبحوا أشخاصاً صالحين ومسؤولين. يجب أن يسمعوا أنهم يتصرفون بشكل جيد وأن أراءهم مهمة.

نحن بحاجة لفهم وتقدير شخصياتهم الفريدة ومساعدتهم في بلورتها بوتيرتهم الخاصة. من خلال فهمنا ودعمنا لهم، قد ينمو أطفالنا ليصبحوا أشخاصاً أقوياء، متمتعين بالوعي الذاتي ومسؤولين اجتماعياً، بطريقة تجعلنا نفتخر بهم.

مقالات ذات صلة

Milestones: What To Expect From Your 5-year-old

MILESTONES:

It’s official now: our baby is no longer a baby. She’s independent, confident, has a mind of her own. She spends hours playing with her toys, loves to try new things and when she gets frustrated, is better able to express it. It’s hard to believe how time has flown, but she’s ready for ‘big school’.

Of course, every 5-year-old grows and develops at his or her own pace, but what’s interesting to note is that we will see some differences in boys and girls, especially in their physical growth, social skills and psychological maturity.

Here are a few ways that 5-year-old boys and girls tend to differ as they grow older.

In the playground 

Boys like motion. They prefer to express themselves through more rough play like pushing, shoving or chasing around. They like to be superheroes who engage in combat and destroy ‘the bad guys’. They are more likely to be competitive

Girls are more likely to be ‘talkers’. They would rather talk through their differences than get physical. Their pretend play is more likely to revolve around social situations eg. doll’s tea party or taking the baby for a walk in the pram. Their games will involve more turn taking than boys.

‘Can we be friends?’

Although there are exceptions, as they hit the 5-year mark, boys and girls tend to have more same-sex playmates

Boys tend to want to belong to a group. They strike up friendships with others who share the same interests eg. sports or racer cars. They are more likely to have many friends and not just ‘a’ best friend.

Girls prefer smaller groups and like to make deeper connections with their friends. They are more likely to have one or two best friends who they share secrets with.

In the classroom

Boys might seem slower at first, but they tend to catch up around this age. They are more likely to be better in visual tasks. Because they love motion, they may have a harder time sitting still.

Girls tend to have longer attention spans and may focus on a task for longer. Their verbal skills mature faster than boys

Dealing with emotions

Boys might seem more aggressive on the surface, but the rough behavior conceals a need for emotional support and guidance. Boys need more help with processing and articulating emotions and so tend to express themselves physically.

Girls tend to emotionally mature earlier and so can navigate the minefield of emotions with greater success. They are also more confident and likely to take charge at this elementary stage.

Let’s get sporty

Boys love more physical sports and group sports. Participating in sporting activities helps them build their confidence and sense of self.

Girls tend to gravitate towards more individualistic sports such as gymnastics and swimming.

Parenting a 5-year-old

Our kids may be growing older and more independent, but our ability to influence and nurture them is more crucial than ever. They need our guidance, our praise, our presence to grow into well-rounded, responsible individuals. They need to hear that they’re doing ok and that their opinions matter.

We need to understand and appreciate their unique personalities and help them flower at their own pace. With our understanding and support, our child can grow into a strong, self-aware, socially responsible and model young person, who can make us proud.

The comment language code.

Related Articles