٥ طرق لبناء روابط عاطفية قوية مع أطفالكم

Strong Emotional Bond With Your

أنت في مركز تجاري وترافقك طفلتك الصغيرة التي تحسن التصرف معك دائماً. عندما قلت لها أنه لا يمكنها الحصول على مزيد من الأيس كريم قامت فجأة بتصرف معاكس وغير متوقع منها. في لحظة تبتسم ابتسامة عريضة، وفي لحظة أخرى، تنظر طفلتك الملائكية إلى الأسفل ثم تضرب الأرض بيديها الصغيرتين وتصيح بأعلى صوتها وترين معظم المتواجدين حولكم ينظرون إليك بعيون الاتهام. تشعرين في هذه اللحظة الحرجة بأنك أسوأ أم على كوكب الأرض.

يبدو مشهداً مألوفاً لكم، أليس صحيحاً؟

كوننا الأهل، نمر جميعاً بحالات لا يمكن فيها توقّع تصرّفات أطفالنا العاطفية بشكل محدّد. فيمكن لأصغر محفز أن يخلق لديهم رد فعل كبير وغير مناسب. قد يعود هذا التصرّف المبالغ فيه إلى مجموعة من العوامل كالتعب، التحفيز الزائد، الجوع وفرط الحساسية أو ربما في الواقع إلى أنهم لا يجيدون الانتقال من حالة إلى أخرى في عالم معقد ومخيف من العواطف.

أيها الأهل الكرام، لن تحدد فقط ردود فعلنا على ثوراتهم ما إذا كانوا سيتعلمون التحكم بعواطفهم بطريقة بنّاءة أم لا، ولكن حتماً ستؤثر على علاقتنا بهم. لا شك أن إحدى أقوى الأدوات التي نمتلكها كأب وأم هي الرابطة العاطفية الطبيعية التي أنشأناها مع أطفالنا.

الأسئلة التي تطرحونها على أنفسكم الآن، كيف نبني الأساس القوي لعلاقة عاطفية سليمة مع أطفالنا؟ كيف نربي طفلاً سعيداً وصحياً وحسن التصرف؟ كيف نؤسّس هذا المصدر الحيوي الضروري لتربية ناجحة؟

١. نحن مرآة لهم ...

يتعلم أطفالنا معظم الدروس حول العواطف من مشاهدتنا. يشمل هذا القدرة على التحكم بالدوافع، تأخير الإرضاء، التحفيز الذاتي، قراءة الإشارات الاجتماعية للأشخاص الآخرين والتعامل مع الحياة بحلوها ومُرّها. يقول علماء النفس في هذه النقطة أن الأطفال ذوي الذكاء العاطفي العالي، أي القدرة على التعامل مع المشاعر والعواطف بطريقة بنّاءة، يتفوقون على نظرائهم على الصعيدين الشخصي والمهني طوال حياتهم.

٢. التركيز على نقاط القوة وليس نقاط الضعف

هذا لا ينطبق فقط على أطفالنا ولكن علينا أيضاً. فنحن كآباء وأمهات نشعر باستمرار بأننا مضطرّون وبالتالي عاجزون. نحن نأخذ سلوك الطفل أمراً شخصياً. نشعر بالذنب بمنتهى السهولة ونظل تحت وطأة هذا الذنب لفترة طويلة.

لا شك أن تربية الأطفال ليست مهمة سهلة ونحن بحاجة إلى الاعتراف أمام أنفسنا بكل انتصار مهما كان صغيراً. من خلال التحدث والاعتراف بالأمور التي نقوم بها بشكل صحيح، فإننا نشجع أطفالنا على بناء احتياطاتهم الخاصة من الثقة والانجازات. من خلال تجنب النقد والتصحيح، وفي المقابل التركيز على الإيجابيات، نساعدهم على رؤية أنفسهم كأشخاص صالحين قادرين على تحقيق أشياء جيدة.

٣. كونوا حاضرين بكل كيانكم.

لا تبدو الأمور بهذه البساطة أبداً. ولكن، في الواقع، يعني تواجدكم الكامل لهم أنكم تولونهم كل الاهتمام المطلوب. ينمو أطفالنا بنجاح مع كل اهتمام بهم إن كان غير مشروط أو مجزّأً. لذا دعونا من الهاتف الذكي ومهام العمل المتعددة. إن السر في العلاقة العظيمة يكمن في منح أطفالنا الوقت اللازم كل يوم ولا شيء غير ذلك.

٤. كونوا آذاناً صاغية لهم

دعونا نواجه الأمر. هناك أوقات لا نحب فيها شيئاً أكثر من أن يلتزم أطفالنا الصمت لمدة ٥ دقائق فقط بينما نخطط ليومنا أو نضع لوائح المهام الخاصة بنا. لكن إذا وضعنا تلك اللائحة على جنب واستمعنا فقط إلى أطفالنا، فسوف يشعرون بأنهم موجودون في حياتنا وسوف يقومون بالنشاط التالي، مما يترك لنا الحرية في التفكير بيومنا هذا. بهذه الطريقة نخلق ثقافة "الاستماع" التي تسمح لأطفالنا بالتعبير لنا عن كل ما يمرّون به عبر سنوات المراهقة المربكة. وهذا هو الأهم.

٥. نخطئ. ننجح. ثم نتواصل من جديد.

نفقد هدوؤنا. نصرخ. نهدّد. نقسم. نعم، ونستخدم في الواقع كلمات نمنع أطفالنا أن يقولوها.

عندما نجد أنفسنا أمام قطيعة معهم وبعيدين عن صورة "الوالدين المثاليين"، لا بدّ ألا نستسلم. نحتاج فقط إلى الاستنجاد بالقواعد التي وضعناها لأطفالنا. ومن ضمنها "الاعتذار" والاعتراف لهم بخطئنا بكل صدق ثم نحضنهم.

بهذه الطريقة الصحيحة نظهر حبنا لهم ليس فقط بالقول وإنما بالفعل أيضاً.

مقالات ذات صلة

5 Ways to Create a Strong Emotional Bond With Your Child

Strong Emotional Bond With Your

You’re in the mall with your usually well-behaved toddler. You tell her she cannot have one MORE ice-cream and she goes into an immediate and unexpected meltdown. One moment she’s all smiles and the next, your angelic toddler is face down on the floor, banging her fists, shrieking her little lungs out and gathering a steadily growing audience. Every eye seems to be looking at you accusingly. You feel like the worst mom on the planet. Sounds familiar?

As parents, we all go through situations where our child’s emotional state is totally unpredictable. The smallest stimulus can trigger a massive and disproportionate reaction. It could be a host of factors – tiredness, overstimulation, hunger, hypersensitivity. Or just the fact that they don’t know how to navigate the complex and scary world of emotions.

Our responses to their outbursts will not only determine whether or not they learn to regulate their emotions in a constructive way, but will also influence the relationship we share with them. In fact, one of the most powerful parenting tools that we have is the natural emotional bond that exists between our child and us.

So how do we create a strong emotional foundation for our children? How do we raise a happy, healthy, well-behaved child? How do we build this vital resource necessary for successful parenting?

1. Mirror, mirror…

Our children learn most lessons about emotions from watching us. This includes the ability to control impulses, delay gratification, self-motivate, read other people’s social cues and cope with life’s ups and downs. Psychologists say that children with high Emotional Intelligence (EI), that is the ability to handle feelings and emotions in a constructive way, outperform their peers personally and professionally throughout their lives.

2. Focus on strengths not weaknesses

This applies not just to our child, but to us as well. As parents, we feel constantly judged and therefore, inadequate. We take our child’s behavior personally. We feel guilty too easily and remain stuck in guilt for too long.

Parenting is not an easy task, and we need to acknowledge ourselves for every small victory. By talking and acknowledging things we do right, we encourage our children to build their own reserves of confidence and achievements. By avoiding criticism and correction, and instead focusing on the positive, we help them see themselves as good people capable of good things.

3. Be fully present

It sounds deceptively simple. But really, being present just means paying attention. Our children thrive with nothing more that our undivided attention. So let’s silence the smartphone and leave multi-tasking to the corporate executives. The secret to a great relationship is some focused time every day doing NOTHING other than being with our child.

4. Listen. Just listen.

Let’s face it, there are times when we’d like nothing better than for our child to be silent for just 5 minutes while we plan our day or make our to-do lists. But chances are, if we put that list down and just listen to what our child is saying, she will feel acknowledged and will move on to the next activity, leaving us free to contemplate our day. More importantly though, we create a culture of ‘listening’ which allows our child to approach us with whatever they’re going through especially through the awkward adolescent years.

5. Make mistakes. Make good. Reconnect.

We lose our cool. We yell. We make threats. We swear. Yes, actually use words that we forbid our child from using.

When we find ourselves on the far end of the ‘Perfect Parent’ spectrum, we needn’t beat ourselves up. We merely need to borrow from the own rulebook we give our children. Which is ‘Say sorry’, acknowledge our mistake honestly and hug it out. By doing this we demonstrate our love not just through words, but also through actions.

Related Articles